world book night

as you may have noticed if you’ve read this blog for any amount of time, i’m a pretty big fan of books and reading. it’s odd, i never used to be. well, in fact i was really into books before i hit about 10, and then just stopped reading until the day after i finished my gcse exams. that day i picked up lord of the flies and haven’t stopped devouring literature since.

this post is in some ways a little premature, as world book night isn’t until april. the basic premiss of the event is that enthusiastic readers can nominate their favourite books, and on world book night some of them get sent a box of specially printed up editions of one of their favourites to ‘distribute.’ they gave away 40,000 books this year, and seem to be upping their coverage to 1 million books for 2012. i was working at cornerhouse on the night earlier this year, and one of the people in manchester was just working their way around their favourite places and hiding copies, dropping them off for strangers to pick up and share in the joy of a book they cared enough about to nominate.

well, the nominations for this year’s event close at the end of august. i think i’ve just finalised my top ten books which i think should be on everyone’s reading lists. there are some in there which i’m pretty sure most people will already know, and a couple which i feel are really unappreciated by a lot of people. i would heartily recommend that you take a few moments over the next couple of days and log onto the site and nominate your favourites.

twitter – @worldbooknight

3 thoughts on “world book night

  1. It took me nearly 2 weeks to decide on 10 books for World Book Night. I didn’t necessarily choose my ‘top’ 10 – I think that might have taken months to decide.

    Diary of a Nobody is hilarious but I didn’t include it. I don’t know why not really. It’s one I do recommend fairly often. I was in two minds about Lolita – It was memorable definitely. There are 2 books on my list that I’m not entirely sure about: The Decent by Jeff Long and To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Perhaps I will swop one of those out for Lolita before the deadline.

    Lord of the Flies is also on my list, as is The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

    My others are The Kite Runner (Khaled Hosseini), A Town Like Alice (Nevil Shute), Room (Emma Donoghue), The Other Hand (Chris Cleave), Mother Tongue: The English Language (Bill Bryson) and The Wasp Factory (Iain Banks).

    I would love to be given the opportunity to give away some of the books on the night. I’m already a Manchester Bookcrosser. Fingers crossed for us both.

Leave a Reply

